The Open Golf Championship 2013 – £1139pp

Muirfield last hosted The Open Championship in 2002, when South Africa’s Ernie Els won his third Major after the first and only four man, four-hole playoff in Open Championship history. This will be the sixteenth time that The Open has been staged at the club, which held its first Championship in 1892.

Winners of previous Muirfield Opens include golf’s biggest names, Nick Faldo (1987, 1992), Tom Watson (1980), Lee Trevino (1972), Jack Nicklaus (1966) and Gary Player (1959) have all lifted the Claret Jug there over the last 50 years. Other winners include Harry Vardon (1896), James Braid (1901, 1906), Walter Hagen (1929) and Henry Cotton (1948).

The Open

There are only two occasions when Edinburgh is beautiful: day and night. It’s a city that wears its history as a badge, making sure that it’s always looking its best and welcoming visitors to its festivals and events with a warmth that’s uniquely Scottish.

Jurys Inn Edinburgh hotel, just off the famous Royal Mile on Jeffrey Street, is located in the Old Town and central to much of its beautiful architecture. It is within walking distance of all the major tourist attractions, shops and only a few minutes walk to Waverley station to catch your train to watch the 142nd Open golf championship.  Check out our website for more information.